A New Project Is Here!

Welcome to the first edition of The Imaginative Press!

Hello!

Welcome to the first edition of my newest project: The Imaginative Press! The intention of this newsletter is a place to share everything that I’m learning and discovering about the wonderful world of Disney and the entertainment industry at large. This is where I can directly communicate with you all of the most fascinating stories I’m discovering from Disney’s past, present, and future.

Of course, creating videos will always be one of my great passions. My entire career thus far has been built on YouTube, but I’m always interested in pushing myself into new creative pursuits. I strive to continue to learn and grow. I continuously desire to try new things with the knowledge that every experience I have will help me, and this is a fun newsletter is a fun new one to take on!

I’m not sure exactly how The Imaginative Press will evolve as I start to write this, but I’m looking forward to the journey. Without further ado, here’s some interesting things I want to share with you!

The Tragedy of Brave’s Original Director

Oscars

In 2012, Brenda Chapman (pictured above on the right) became the first woman to receive an Oscar for Best Animated Feature film for her work on Pixar’s Brave, but while this milestone was historic, it was also bittersweet.

You see, when Brenda Chapman originally became the director of Brave - a story that was inspired by her experiences as a woman and a mother - she established herself as Pixar’s first female director; this was a position she earned after directing The Prince of Egypt and working in the story department on classics like Beauty and the Beast & The Lion King.

Unfortunately though, part way through the production of Brave, she was replaced by a filmmaker named Mark Andrews (pictured above on the left)… But this wasn’t a year or two into development. This wasn’t even half way through!

Brenda Chapman had directed Brave from its inception for six years before it was taken away from her about a year before its release.

So at the night of the Oscars, she may have made history, but it only came after she lost control of the film that was near and dear to her heart.

Afterward she left Pixar and has not returned.

My Take

I can’t imagine the pain Brenda Chapman went through being removed from Brave (originally titled The Bow and the Bear). She poured her heart into that film, but in the end it was all taken away from her. For all of her contributions, she was still recognized as one of the film’s directors, but I can’t imagine what kind of “creative differences” could have led to such a devastating outcome.

Villains Are Coming To Disney World

Disney Parks Blog

Following the announcement that Villains land to come to the Magic Kingdom, Disney has also recently revealed that an all-new live action production is coming to Disney’s Hollywood Studios! The current home of Lightning McQueen’s Racing Academy is set to close on October 7 of this year so that it can be transformed into “the reflective realm of the Magic Mirror.”

The show is set to include “dozens of the most infamous evildoers” including characters such as Cruella de Vil, Captain Hook and Maleficent, and it is set to debut summer 2025.

My Take

Personally I loved Lightning McQueen’s Racing Academy! It’s a fun experience in Hollywood Studios. I didn’t necessarily understand how it fit in thematically (in a similar way to how I don’t understand how the Disney Villains fit on Sunset Boulevard), but for me, it’s just been enjoyable to see Lightning McQueen live and in person.

With that being said, I do think it’s going to be exciting to have a taste of the Disney Villains in the parks, and I am sure I won’t be alone. I have a feeling that guests will welcome the Disney Villains with open arms, and I’m fascinated to see how this experience may be able to showcase what Disney is imagining for the Disney Villains long term throughout Walt Disney World.

Visiting The Original Disney Cruise Ship

Last weekend I set sail aboard the Disney Magic: the first ship in Disney’s fleet of cruise ships! While this was not my first Disney Cruise, it was exciting to get to experience the one that started it all.

Easily one of the highlights was dining at Rapunzel’s Royal Table! I have to say as a huge Tangled The Series fan, it was incredible. I mean they even sang “Life After Happily Ever After”! I had no clue they integrated just a dash of Tangled The Series into the experience. Hook Hand even knew who Hook Foot was! That restaurant alone made the trip worth it.

I also visited Disney’s newest island destination, Disney Lookout Cay at Lighthouse Point. Let me tell you, they have the most beautiful beach I’ve ever seen in my entire life. I didn’t get to experience it as much as I would have liked, but it was wonderful.

It’s always a pleasure to see Captain Mickey and Minnie!

My Take

I love Disney Cruise Line. I can’t recommend it enough. Speaking on the Disney Magic for a second, it’s wild how well Disney established the important fundamentals of what a Disney Cruise is today from the very beginning! They nailed it. Sure the Disney Magic isn’t as large as the newer ships, but that doesn’t take away from the high quality food, entertainment, and relaxation that you can achieve on board.

I already miss being on board.

Mini Stories

  • One of my favorite videos that I’ve made in recent years is “Why Magnifico Failed As A Disney Villain”. I weave together my own thoughts on Disney’s Wish while also including fascinating insights on the qualities of effective Disney Villains from two of Walt Disney’s Nine Old Men.

  • My preorder of Disney In-Between: The Lost Years 1966-1986 has just arrived! I’m looking forward to understanding the time after Walt Disney’s death in a lot more detail especially while supporting the author Stephen Anderson. Previously he directed Meet the Robinsons along with 2011’s Winnie The Pooh.

  • Oh I gotta also say that I just subscribed to the bundle that includes Disney+, Hulu, and Max. I realized recently that Max alone was costing me $18 without ads, so getting all three services for $30 was a no brainer for me.

Well that concludes this first newsletter! If you enjoyed it, consider sharing it with someone you think might enjoy it, and feel free to respond with what you liked or what you would improve in future issues. I can’t wait to continue to experiment and forge ahead into new realms.

Thanks for reading, and of course have a magical day!